A happy surprise on a rainy day {avocado mold}

Today was a cold and rainy kind of day.  So I did what I always do on a cold rainy day – I went into the kitchen.  I love working in the kitchen at any time but these days are the best!  

avocado

This is one of those recipes you can’t judge by the list of ingredients!  My first thought when I saw the recipe was “yay!  avocado” but then upon looking at the ingredient list I put the recipe away and thought “no way”.  But I admit that I’ve been fascinated with the recipe ever since I got it from Mema’s house a couple of years ago.  What could an avocado mold possibly taste like!?

scallions and lemons

After the avocado mold set in the fridge I tasted it and found out I just made a different version of guacamole.  It has a slight different texture (having gelatin in it and all!) but it’s very good.  I would have liked mine a bit spicier so I think a bit more hot sauce would have been nice.  And I didn’t have any pimentos on hand and I think they would have been a good addition as well.  But it will definitely be a great addition to our taco dinner tonight as it is!  Yum!

avocado mold

So, even though it’s been rainy and I’ve had to stay inside, it’s been a good day.  And I have learned a lesson too.  Don’t judge a recipe by it’s ingredients!  Just give it a go and you may be pleasantly surprised!

Avocado Mold

1 T. unflavored gelatin

1 c. cold water

2 T. lemon juice

1/4 tsp. celery salt

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 tsp. hot pepper sauce (or to taste)

1 c. mashed avocado (about 2 avocados)

1/2 c. sour cream

1/2 c. mayonnaise

1/4 c. finely chopped green onion

1/4 c. finely chopped pimento (optional)

In a small saucepan, sprinkle unflavored gelatin over cold water and let stand 1 minute. Then stir over low heat until gelatin is completely dissolved.  Stir in lemon juice, celery salt, garlic powder, and hot pepper sauce.  In a large bowl, blend avocado and mayo until mixture is smooth.  Then blend in sour cream, gelatin, and green onions, adding pimentos if desired. Pour into a 6 inch divided mold or a 3 c. mold.  Chill until firm (check after a couple of hours).  Recipe may be doubled.

Leave a Reply

