Time to wake up from my winter hibernation {refrigerator rolls}

I’m finally coming out of my winter hibernation!  When winter comes around I just slow down.  Friends are not invited over to our house.  I rarely call anyone or meet anyone anywhere.  I just want to stay inside where it’s warm and cozy!  But now that March is upon us, the temperature is slowly rising, and the flowers are starting to bloom, it’s time for me to get social again.

refrigerator rolls

Tonight I got to spend time with 2 friends I have known for almost 30 years.  We’ve been back in town for 9 months, I figured it was about time to invite them over for dinner!  I love spending time with friends I have known for many many years.  We know what the other is thinking.  We can finish each other’s sentences.  And there are so many memories to laugh about.

refrigerator rolls

It was a beautiful day (with one quick thunderstorm thrown in) so we decided to grill but I wanted to make some bread to go along with our meal.  I decided to try out these refrigerator rolls and I’m glad I did!  I usually like to make bread using my bread maker so I don’t have too much experience making bread by hand.  But these are easy (especially if you have a dough hook on your mixer!)

refrigerator rolls refrigerator rolls

So, the verdict on these?  Very good rolls!  Simple ingredients.  Time consuming but not hands-on time consuming.  Definitely another recipe I will try again.  Enjoy!

Refrigerator Rolls

From Mema’s friend, Mrs. VanHorn

1 pkg. dry yeast

1/2 c. warm water

1/2 c. sugar

1 1/2 c. warm water

3 T. oil or shortening

2 tsp. salt

2 eggs

6 c. flour

Dissolve yeast in 1/2 c. warm water.  Measure sugar, salt, shortening/oil, and 1 1/2 c. warm water in a large bowl.  Beat in yeast and eggs.  Add 2 cups flour and beat until smooth.  Stir in enough flour to make a soft dough and mix well.  Place dough in a greased bowl, cover and let rise until doubled (about 1 1/2 hours).  Punch down.  Cover tightly and refrigerate for a while.  Remove dough from fridge.  Shape rolls, place on oiled cookie sheet, and let rise until doubled (about 45 minutes).  Bake at 400 degrees 15 to 20 minutes (check at 10 minutes – mine took less than 15 minutes).

Dough keeps 3 to 4 days.

Leave a Reply

