A simple but special treat {poppy seed cake}

A new soccer season started this week and this evening was our youngest’s first soccer game ever.  Our oldest has been playing soccer for years but it took a long time to convince our youngest to give it a shot.  This evening was amazing though!  He loved it.  He laughed.  He dribbled the ball.  He ran a mile (at least!).  This from the child whose favorite activities include drawing, dressing up, and creating things out of our recycling pile.  I thought this deserved a treat so I pulled out the cake I made this afternoon for dessert.  What a yummy ending to a special evening!

poppy seed cake recipe

This recipe has been on my fridge for months.  It’s on a little tiny square of newspaper Mema must have cut out many many years ago.  I was afraid it would get lost if I kept it with the other recipes but then it got lost on my fridge and I forgot about it.  That’s what happens to things I put on my fridge.  I should have known better!  I found it again recently when clearing the flyers and pictures off the door.  I realized that if I didn’t make it soon the recipe would get lost again so here it is!

poppy seeds

Fortunately, it was a very easy cake to make.  I had to make some assumptions because the recipe as typed in the newspaper doesn’t make everything clear (like what size container sour cream to add!?)  But it turned out great!  We ate it without any icing and it was delicious.  Tomorrow I think I’ll make a simple icing with powdered sugar, milk, butter, and vanilla for the rest of the cake.

poppy seed cake

Poppy Seed Cake

{clipped from a newspaper, submitted by Emily Mason}

‘Butter Batter’ cake mix

1/2 c. sugar

1/4 c. poppy seeds

3/4 c. oil

4 eggs

1 c. (8 oz. carton) sour cream

Mix all ingredients together.  Pour into a cake pan (oiled and floured) and bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes.

Note: make sure to oil and flour your pan;  I just sprayed my pan and the cake stuck a bit.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “A simple but special treat {poppy seed cake}

Leave a Reply

