A good day to try something new {oxfordshire scones}

I have never made scones before.  I have a friend back in Atlanta who makes beautiful scones!  But she is a wonderful cook and everything she makes turns out perfect (seriously).  I just figured they were too difficult for me to make and assumed I was destined to purchase mine at the local bakery for the rest of my life.  I could not have been more wrong!

oxfordshire scones with kusmi tea

With the cold weather I’ve been drinking more hot tea lately.  I love hot tea and have a wonderful assortment of tea bags arranged in jars on my countertop (tea bags can be so pretty!)  Today, I thought I might take the plunge and try out one of the scone recipes I found at Mema’s house.  I love scones with tea!  And these scones are delicious with the Kusmi Tea my mom brought back from Paris.

oxfordshire scones with kusmi tea

The recipe I decided to use called for raisins or currants.  I only had dried cranberries in the house so I decided to substitute the cranberries for raisins.  To be quite honest, even if I did have raisins in the house I probably would have made this substitution!  I do love cranberries!

dried cranberries

Other than that, I followed the recipe as stated on the card (especially since I haven’t made scones before) and they turned out delicious!  Perfect texture.  Perfect balance between not too sweet and not sweet enough.  Great option for breakfast, snack, or dessert!

dough for oxfordshire scones

oxfordshire scones

oxfordshire scones

I did roll out the dough and cut into rounds using Mema’s old biscuit cutter (you can see them stacked in the back in the first picture) but I shaped the leftover dough into one larger round and cut into wedges, just for some fun (getting crazy in the kitchen, hahaha!)  I really would recommend these.  My youngest loved them.  My mom loved them.  My stepdad loved them.  My oldest wasn’t hungry when he got home from school but I’m sure he would have loved them as well!  Now they all want me to make them with chocolate chips next.  Yum!

Oxfordshire Scones

1/2 c. raisins or currants (I think most any dried berry would work; my mom wants me to try them with dried cherries sometime)

2 c. flour

1/4 c. sugar

6 T. unsalted butter

1/2 tsp. salt

1 T. + 1 tsp. baking powder

1 egg (I got to use another one of my farm fresh eggs from the mechanic!)

1/2 c. milk or half & half (I used half & half leftover from a previous recipe)

Soak raisins or currants in hot water or juice to cover.  Set aside.  Mix together flour, sugar, butter, salt, & baking powder (I used 2 knives to cut the butter into the flour mixture).  Mix egg and milk together.  Add to dry ingredients.  Drain raisins and knead into dough.  Roll dough 1/2-inch thick and cut into rounds.  Place on a greased baking sheet (I used parchment paper).  Bake at 425 degrees for 14 minutes.  Serve with whipped butter and preserves.

note: check your scones before 14 minutes are up; I had to take mine out of the oven at around 12 minutes

Enjoy!

One thought on “A good day to try something new {oxfordshire scones}

  1. Pingback: One more thought for the week {or maybe two thoughts?} | Mema's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

