It all started with a trip to the mechanic {chocolate pie with thin mints}

I have Long Shop Service Center to thank for this delicious chocolate pie!  It started with the mundane task to taking the car in for an inspection and it ended with a certificate saying my car was safe to drive, a dozen eggs on my floorboard, and a box of Thin Mints calling my name from the passenger seat.  Ends up my mechanic also sells farm fresh eggs, Girl Scout cookies, and sourdough bread (I’ll get a loaf next time I take my car in).  I love this place!

a dozen farm fresh eggs

As soon as I got home I set about searching through Mema’s stack of dessert recipes.  Mema loved to make desserts so I had a lot to go through!  I definitely wanted to use some of my newly acquired eggs and if I could incorporate the Thin Mints somehow, even better!  It took me a little while to decide and I finally settled on making a Chocolate Pie (Chocolate Pie with Thin Mints… can’t go wrong with that!)

my little helper checking out the eggs and milk

Once my youngest heard me putzing about in the kitchen he wanted to help too.  He loves to cook with me!  He was amazed that the eggs could separate into whites and yolks and he loved how the yolks looked when we added the milk.  I love having him in the kitchen with me as well.  I love his excitement about such simple tasks as measuring and pouring.  And, the best thing… if he helps me cook, he is more likely to try the foods we make!

chocolate pie

chocolate pie straight out of the oven

chocolate pie with thin mints

chocolate pie with thin mints

After baking, I let the pie cool a while before crunching up a few thin mints and dropping on top.  Then I put it in the fridge for it to set completely.  Of course, we were finished with dinner and ready for dessert before it had completely set so ours was a bit more on the pudding side.  But the other half of the pie is in the fridge and will be set soon.  Looking forward to eating the second half of the pie tomorrow!

Chocolate Pie

1 c. sugar

3 T. cornstarch

dash of salt

2 c. milk

3 eggs, separated

1 (1-oz) square unsweetened chocolate

1 T. butter or margarine

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 9-inch baked pie shell

1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

1/4 c. plus 2 T. sugar

Combine 1 c. sugar, cornstarch, & salt in a heavy saucepan.  Mix well.  Combine milk and egg yolks; beat with a wire whisk 1 to 2 minutes or until frothy.  Gradually stir into sugar mixture, mixing well.  Place over medium heat and stir constantly until thickened and bubbly.  Remove from heat;  add chocolate, butter, & vanilla extract, stirring until the chocolate and butter melt.  Spoon into pie shell and set aside.

For the meringue, beat egg whites (at room temperature) until frothy;  add cream of tartar, beating slightly.  Gradually add remaining sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating until stiff peaks form.  Spread meringue over filling, sealing to edge of pastry.  Bake at 350 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “It all started with a trip to the mechanic {chocolate pie with thin mints}

  1. Pingback: A good day to try something new {oxfordshire scones} | Mema's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: One more thought for the week {or maybe two thoughts?} | Mema's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

