A gift from the farmer’s market makes for happy times in the kitchen {creamy turnip soup}

My mom showed up yesterday with a gift for me – baby white turnips from the local outdoor farmer’s market.  I love going to the farmer’s market but was too much of a wimp yesterday to get out in the cold weather.  Awful, I know!  Next week I’ll support our local farmers.  I promise!  But I digress….

baby white turnips

Back to the turnips.

When I got them last night I instantly went to Mema’s collection.  I remembered seeing a turnip soup recipe in there somewhere.  I admit I have never cooked turnips before and I was a bit apprehensive about wasting these beautiful turnips on a bad recipe.  I figured something out of Mema’s collection would probably work.

baby white turnips

baby turnips

I woke up this morning to another cold day with tiny snowflakes flitting about outside.  So, after a trip to the grocery store for the last two soup ingredients I opened the curtains in my kitchen to let in the maximum amount of natural light and went to work while watching the snowflakes floating around.  Definitely better than TV!  Much more relaxing.

sliced carrots chopped celery

After some chopping and slicing I was ready to start cooking.  I was a bit perplexed by the seemingly small amount of water I was supposed to boil the vegetables in but they cooked down and released their own water as they cooked so it was a wasted worry.  After all was said and done, it turned out to be an easy soup to make and absolutely delicious!  My soup was a bit on the runny side so keep an eye on the pot as you add the milk and half & half.  You may or may not need the full amount listed in the recipe.

creamy turnip soup with shredded cheddar

creamy turnip soup with shredded cheddar

I decided to top my soup with shredded cheddar right before eating.  I’m sure you can top with other things – maybe a tad bit of sour cream, plain greek yogurt, or fresh parsley?!

So, this is another warm winter soup I will make again and again!  I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do!

Creamy Turnip Soup

4 c. peeled & thinly sliced turnips

2 medium onions, sliced

1 large carrot, sliced

1 stalk celery, chopped

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. sugar

1/8 tsp. pepper

1 c. water

3 c. milk

1 c. half & half

Combine first 8 ingredients in a dutch oven.  Bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer 15 to 20 minutes or until vegetables are tender (I covered the pot).  Spoon vegetable mixture into container of an electric blender and process until smooth.  Return vegetable mixture to dutch oven.  Stir in milk and half & half.  Cook over low heat, stirring constantly, just until thoroughly heated.  Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

