A Special Thanksgiving Treat {Strawberry Pie}

I think I have said this before but just in case you missed it, I love pies!  I’ll eat pie any time of the year but for some reason they just taste better during the holidays.  I had planned on making a cherry pie for Thanksgiving (because what is Thanksgiving without a pie!?) but then I saw this strawberry pie recipe in Mema’s collection and the cherry pie became a distant memory.  This is my first attempt at a strawberry pie and I don’t think it could have been any easier.  Delicious too!

strawberry pie with homemade whipped cream

Strawberry Pie

1 8-inch pie crust, baked and cooled

4 T. cornstarch

1 c. sugar

1 c. water

dash salt

3 T. strawberry jello

1 qt. strawberries (I halved mine just to make it easier on the kids)

whipping cream (I made homemade whipped cream which made the pie extra delicious!)

Combine cornstarch, sugar, and salt in a pot.  Add water, a little at a time.  Cook until thick and transparent.  Remove from heat.  Add jello and stir until dissolved.  Cool.

Pour berries into sauce.  Coat all berries and pour into baked pie shell.  Chill at least 3 hours in refrigerator.  Add whipped cream.

Enjoy and Happy Thanksgiving!

One thought on “A Special Thanksgiving Treat {Strawberry Pie}

  1. Pingback: Greek Yogurt Cheesecake with Pomegranate Syrup « my little corner of the world

Leave a Reply

