Time to start my holiday cooking {Peanut Brittle}

I can’t believe Thanksgiving is already next week!  Time to start my holiday cooking – and I’m starting with peanut brittle.  Why peanut brittle?  Because my mom and I were out and about yesterday and she mentioned peanut brittle somewhere within our conversation. This got me dreaming of the sweet crunchy stuff all day and last night I couldn’t resist any longer.  Fortunately, I had everything I needed and I got to work.

I have never made peanut brittle and was a little curious as to the use of baking soda in a candy.  I quickly found out the reason!  As soon as I added the soda, a most beautiful chemical reaction occurred and it went from ‘runny’ to thick and creamy.  I know baking soda can cause wonderful chemical reactions with vinegar that can clean my home (my toilets are sparkly clean from this reaction!) but I had no idea it would work in candy as well.  I wish my boys had been with me when this happened.  They would have LOVED to see it!

peanut brittle

Peanut Brittle

2 c. white sugar

1 c. white corn syrup

1 T. butter

1/2 c. water

2 c. raw peanuts (I didn’t have raw peanuts so I used some unsalted dry roasted peanuts I had in the pantry)

2 tsp. baking soda

Mix sugar, syrup, & water in a saucepan.  Bring to boil and boil 12 minutes.  Add peanuts.  Stir over high heat until syrup is light golden brown (this took about 7 minutes for my batch).  Add 1 T. butter and stir until melted.  Remove from heat and gently stir in baking soda.  Immediately pour out mixture on a buttered cookie sheet.  Cool and break into pieces.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

