Another rainy day, another morning spent in the kitchen {Cream Cheese Cookies}

It’s definitely fall and I’m loving every minute of it!  We woke up to another rainy day with a high of 46 degrees (which is a bit cold for this time of year but good for jeans and sweaters) so where else would I spend my morning but in the kitchen!?  While Ted and the boys were in the playroom doing what they do best (i.e. trashing the room but having a blast doing it!) I decided to make some cookies.

I admit that I have never baked cookies using a cake mix.  I have seen a few various recipes in Mema’s collection but this is the first one I have tried and I was definitely not disappointed.  Super yummy!  The boys had one after lunch and Ted has already eaten a handful.  All three have given these cookies a big thumbs up.

Cream Cheese Cookies

Cream Cheese Cookies

{this recipe came from a newspaper clipping but I’m not sure what paper and when it was clipped}

1/4 c. margarine or butter

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

1 egg

1/4 tsp. vanilla

1 box devil’s food cake mix or other cake mix (I had a butter cake mix that I used)

Cream margarine and cream cheese.  Blend in egg and vanilla.  Add cake mix, one-third at a time, mixing well after each addition.  Cover and chill 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Drop batter by scant teaspoonfuls on ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 8 to 10 minutes.  Cool slightly before removing from baking sheet.  Makes 6 to 8 dozen cookies.

Note: I made my cookies bigger and made about 3 dozen cookies.

One thought on “Another rainy day, another morning spent in the kitchen {Cream Cheese Cookies}

  1. Pingback: I promise, last Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe {at least for a while} | Mema's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

