Fall is here! {Broccoli Soup & Wheat Germ Yogurt Bread}

I LOVE fall!  I love scarves and sweaters, the sound of leaves crunching beneath my shoes, open windows, and soup!  I really love soup!  I grew up eating this Broccoli soup which my mom got from Mema and now that fall is officially here I thought I would welcome it with memories of my childhood and a little dose of comfort food.

And what better companion to soup than a wonderful loaf of homemade bread.  Ok, I have to admit something now… even though this blog is called ‘Mema’s Kitchen’, some of these recipes are actually things Papa made.  Most of his handwritten recipes are the breads and this is one of them.  I have never tried this one before and it was delicious!  Perfect density and easy to make (I guess it helped that I had my mom’s super cool Kitchenaid mixer with the dough hook!)  We sliced it and served with butter tonight but mom wants to try it toasted with jam in the morning.  I think I shall try that as well!

Broccoli Soup

Broccoli Soup

1 T. oil

6 T. chopped onion (I used purple onion)

2 cans chicken broth

4 oz. thin egg noodles

salt to taste

1 pkg. frozen chopped broccoli

3 c. milk

1/2 lb. grated american cheese (we’ve always used cheddar instead)

In a large saucepan, heat the oil and saute the onion.  Add chicken broth and bring to boil.  Add noodles and salt and cook 3 to 4 minutes.  Stir in chopped broccoli and cook 4 minutes.  Add milk and cheese.  Stir until the cheese is melted and broccoli is heated through.

I love to garnish with more shredded cheese!

Wheat Germ Yogurt Bread – sliced and ready for dinner!

Wheat Germ Yogurt Bread – makes 2 round loaves

4 1/2 to 5 c. unsifted flour

1/3 c. instant nonfat dry milk

2 T. sugar

2 tsp. salt

1/2 c. plain yogurt (I used plain greek yogurt)

2 pkg. dry yeast

1 1/3 c. water

2 T. margarine

In a large bowl, mix 1-3/4 c. flour, dry milk, sugar, salt, & undissolved yeast.  Combine water, yogurt, and margarine in a saucepan.  Heat over low heat until liquids are warm (120 to 130 degrees) – margarine does not need to completely melt.  Gradually add to dry ingredients and beat 2 minutes at medium speed of electric mixer.  Add 1/2 c. flour and beat 2 minutes at high speed.  Stir in wheat germ and enough additional flour to make a stiff dough.  Turn out onto a lightly floured board and knead until smooth and elastic, about 4 to 5 minutes.  Divide dough in half and shape into 2 round balls.  Place on a greased baking sheet.  Cut a circle in top of each loaf 1/2 inch deep and 1 inch from the edge.  Cover and let rise 45 minutes in a warm place.  Bake at 375 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes.

Leave a Reply

