Party Time! {Barney’s Cheese Spread & Baked Onion Cheese Dip}

My mom and I co-hosted a party at my house last Friday night and I thought it would be the perfect time to try out some of Mema’s cheese dips.  Both of the dips I made received rave reviews but the most popular was definitely the Baked Onion Cheese Dip.  Everyone commented on how good my house smelled when they walked in and it was this dip they were smelling.  These are definitely two I will make again for parties – especially with all of the holidays coming up!

Baked Onion Cheese Dip

Baked Onion Cheese Dip

4 – 8oz bars of cream cheese (no low fat or light)

1 – 8oz pkg parmesan cheese

4 c. fresh chopped onions (I used purple onion but you can use any kind)

1 c. mayonnaise

Soften cream cheese.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix together cream cheese, mayo, & onion by hand (not mixer).  Add parmesan cheese, a little at a time.  Pour into a casserole dish and bake for 35 minutes uncovered (mine took a little longer to heat all the way through because I used a smaller dish).

Barney’s Cheese Spread

Barney’s Cheese Spread

{notes: I tried this in a blender like the recipe said but it didn’t work – I transferred everything to my food processor and it worked great.  Also, I would use more horseradish than the recipe calls for but that’s just because I like horseradish!}

10oz. cracker barrel extra sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 c. miracle whip

1/2 c. mayonnaise

1/2 tsp. horseradish

grated onion to taste

Grate the cheddar cheese.  Add remaining ingredients to cheese in a blender (this did not work for me – I had to use a food processor).  Mix until fluffy.

Leave a Reply

