Molasses Banana Bread (healthy!)

molasses banana bread

So I looked at my bunch of bananas recently and noticed my final three bananas were not something I could eat but they were perfect for a banana bread.  Yay!  I LOVE banana bread!  I found two very different recipes in Mema’s collection – a Molasses Banana Bread and a Banana Nut Bread.  I loved the fact that the Molasses Banana Bread had no added granulated sugars and used whole wheat flour, so I chose to make this one first.  First, I have to say, this is not your typical sweet banana bread but it’s good!  Second, I did not have blackstrap molasses, just regular molasses and to be honest, I’m not sure what the difference is.  My bread turned out delicious so I don’t know if it really made much of a difference.  I’ll try it with blackstrap molasses next time to see.  Third, I baked the bread at 325 degrees for 60 minutes and the sides got a little overcooked (which you can probably tell in the picture!)  When I checked at 55 minutes, the center was not done so I left it in for 5 more minutes.  I think I will try baking at 300 degrees next time to see if it might bake a little more evenly.  But when all is said and done, this bread is a very healthy banana bread – definitely not sweet but full of wonderful flavor!

2 c. whole wheat flour

1/3 c. nonfat dry milk

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 c. butter

1/4 c. blackstrap molasses

1/4 c. honey

3 eggs

2 large or 3 small bananas, mashed

1/3 c. water

Sift together the flour, dry milk, baking powder, & baking soda.  In a mixing bowl, beat the butter, molasses, & honey until well mixed.  Add the eggs, bananas, & water and beat well.  Add the dry ingredients and mix well.  Put batter into an oiled loaf pan.  Bake at 325 degrees (see my note about regarding bake temperature) for 55 to 60 minutes or until knife inserted in center comes out clean.

4 thoughts on “Molasses Banana Bread (healthy!)

Leave a Reply

