A Week of Salads – A-B-C Salad {apple, broccoli, cabbage…}

a-b-c salad

This is one of those salads I wasn’t so sure about.  I love the mix of veggies in there yet I wasn’t so sure about the apple.  But that did not deter me from trying out the recipe last night for dinner and I’m really very glad I did!  It is very light and refreshing, especially with the apple in there – a perfect summer salad – but what pulls everything together is the salad dressing! Oh my, it’s scrumptious!  It is definitely going to be my go-to dressing from now on!

salad:

1 large apple, cut into chunks

1/2 lb. broccoli florets

1/2 small cabbage, shredded (I thinly sliced mine)

1 small onion, chopped (I used a red onion)

1 small green pepper, chopped

1 small red pepper, chopped

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and serve with the following dressing.

dressing:

1/4 c. oil

1/3 c. honey

1/4 c. cider vinegar

4 T. lemon juice

2 tsp. prepared mustard

1/2 tsp. paprika

1/4 tsp. each salt & pepper

Combine all ingredients in a jar with a tight-fitting lid.  Shake well to blend (I had to shake pretty hard to make sure the honey mixed in well).  Refrigerate.

Leave a Reply

