A Week of Salads – Cabbage Slaw aka Barbecue Slaw {no mayonnaise}

cabbage slaw

I love coleslaw!  Especially if it doesn’t have mayo.  I like mayo but only on certain things and slaw is not one of them so I got giddy with excitement when I saw this recipe {and I was not disappointed}!  This is a very simple recipe but the flavor is wonderful.  I thought it would be a bit sweeter than it is with the amount of sugar added but the sugar and vinegar balance each other out very nicely.  I think it would be great on a barbecue sandwich and I may just have to make some soon so I can try it out.  Maybe dinner tonight!?

1 medium cabbage, grated (I thinly sliced mine)

1 large onion, sliced

3/4 c. sugar

1 c. vinegar (I actually used apple cider vinegar)

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. celery salt

1 T. mustard

1 T. sugar

1 c. oil

Put cabbage and onion in a large bowl and sprinkle the 3/4 c. sugar over it and set aside. Bring vinegar, salt, celery salt, mustard, and 1 T. sugar to a boil.  Then add the oil and bring to a boil again.  Pour mixture over cabbage & onions and stir.  Cover and refrigerate.

notes from Mema’s recipe: will keep for several days; better if it has set for several hours

Leave a Reply

