A Week of Salads – Cucumber Salad

 

  

I had a good trip to the farmers market this weekend!  Every Saturday morning and Wednesday afternoon, a small green area downtown becomes a vibrant farmers market where one can purchase local produce, honey, eggs, chicken, beef, pork, turkey, breads, hummus, handmade children’s clothing, wooden bowls, and the list goes on.  I usually go for the produce, honey, eggs, and meat (I make my own bread otherwise I would purchase my bread there as well) and today did not disappoint!  I bought the most beautiful bell pepper (a vibrant watercolor of green, yellow, and orange), tomatoes, summer squash, green beans, 3 heads of lettuce, local honey, along with a whole chicken and a pork tenderloin.  Having cucumbers and red onion left over from a previous trip I thought it might be a good week for salads!  I’m starting with Mema’s Cucumber Salad.  Now, I thought I had more cucumber left but upon looking in the fridge I realized my cucumber-loving son took a good bulk of it in his lunches to school last week so my salad actually ended up being more of a chopped vegetable salad – a Farmers Market salad if you will 🙂  The colors are stunning though and it has such a refreshing taste – not too sweet, not too dull – it is a perfect summer salad!

4 or 5 large cucumbers

3 tomatoes (optional)

1 medium onion

2 bell peppers

3 celery stalks

1/4 c. oil

1/4 c. honey

1/4 c. vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Chop vegetables and put in a bowl.  Combine oil, honey, & vinegar.  Season to taste with salt & pepper.  Mix well.  Pour over vegetables and marinate overnight.  Drain before serving.

Leave a Reply

