Old Fashioned Buttermilk Pie & Mema’s Pie Dough

Hello!  I know it’s been while since I’ve been here – I unintentionally took the summer off.  We started out this summer with a move from Georgia to Virginia and I am not good at doing anything else if my house is a mess (which it was all summer long!) But today was Rowan’s first day back at school so I thought I’d spend some time in the kitchen this morning.  I have been wanting to make this Old Fashioned Buttermilk Pie for a while now (because I love buttermilk and wondered what in the world a buttermilk pie would taste like).  Well now I know!  It’s custardy (is that even a word?!) and sweet, very scrumptious – I think half of the pie is already gone!  Instead of purchasing a pre-made pie crust I went ahead and used Mema’s Pie Dough recipe.  They both turned out wonderful!

Pie Dough

Pie Dough {this will make one pie crust; if you are making a pie that needs a top then you’ll need to double the recipe}

1 1/2 c. flour

dash of salt

1/2 c. oil

1/4 c. water

pinch of sugar

Mix all ingredients together and roll between 2 pieces of wax paper with a little flour on the paper.

Old Fashioned Buttermilk Pie

Old Fashioned Buttermilk Pie

3 T. unsalted butter

1 1/4 c. sugar

3 eggs

1 T. flour

1/2 c. buttermilk

1 tsp. vanilla

9″ unbaked pie shell

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  Cream butter & sugar.  Add eggs, flour, buttermilk, & vanilla.  Pour into unbaked pie shell.  Bake 45 minutes to 1 hour or until knife comes out clean (mine took about 1 1/2 hours – see note below).

note: Mema’s recipe says to bake at 300 degrees but it took my pie closer to 1 1/2 hours to cook.  You could probably raise the temperature to 325 or 350 but you’d need to make sure the crust doesn’t overcook.  Just keep an eye on the crust and if it starts to turn brown put a little aluminum foil over the edges.

Leave a Reply

