Spiced Apple Muffins

spiced apple muffins

This week is Teacher Appreciation Week and tomorrow is “bring your teacher a treat” day at Rowan’s school so I thought maybe we could make something together.  Going through Mema’s recipes I found this one for spiced apple muffins and thought it sounded delicious.  Plus, I already have all of the ingredients so it’s definitely a go for me!

One thing about these muffins, they are not sweet.  This may be why I love them so much and just ate three right out of the oven.  I need to stop while I’m ahead and make sure we leave some to take to Rowan’s teacher tomorrow!

Note: It calls for melted shortening.  I used actual shortening because I’m out of butter.  I think it would taste a bit better with butter or margarine though.  In my opinion, delicious with shortening – probably more delicious with butter!

2 c. flour

3/4 c. finely chopped apple

1/3 c. sugar

4 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1 c. milk

1/4 c. melted shortening

1 egg, beaten

Combine flour, apple, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, & nutmeg and make a well in the center of the mixture.  Combine milk, shortening, & egg and add to flour mixture, stirring just until moistened.  Spoon batter into greased muffin tins (or use paper liners), filling 2/3 full.  Bake at 400 degrees for 25 minutes or until golden brown.

yield: about 12 to 15 muffins

Leave a Reply

