Creamy Pralines

creamy pralines

I admit I have never tried making any kind of candy before so I had to do some ‘research’ before starting these.  For instance, I had no idea how to caramelize sugar.  I found this to be rather helpful: How to Caramelize Sugar.  Also, I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect when the candy was done and ready to be removed from heat.  I kept dropping small blobs in a glass of cold water and took a guess at when it was done.  But when all was said and done, I ended up with some delicious creamy pralines so I guess all is well!

Note: I did not use pecan halves – $14/bag seemed mighty expensive for trying a recipe that may not have worked out.  So I bought a bag of pecan pieces for $5.

2 c. cane sugar

1 c. evaporated milk

2 c. pecan halves

1/2 c. cane sugar (to caramelize)

1 T. butter

1/2 tsp. vanilla

pinch of salt

Caramelize1/2 c. sugar.  Mix together 2 c. sugar and evaporated milk.  Add to caramelized sugar.  Add pecans.  Stir constantly until mixture forms a firm ball when dropped in cold water.  Remove from heat and add butter, vanilla, & salt.  Beat until creamy.  Drop by tablespoonful onto waxed paper.  Beating is essential in keeping candy from becoming grainy.

Leave a Reply

