Copper Pennies

copper pennies

I wasn’t so sure about these… I know I’ve mentioned before and I’ll mention again, I do not like cooked carrots.  But I really wanted to try this out.  The ingredients seemed a bit interesting and I just had to see what it tasted like so I halved the recipe and went for it.  And you know what… I really like them!  Pretty much, they are just marinated veggies and since they are eaten cold the carrots are rather tasty.  So maybe I just don’t like cooked warm carrots?!

These would be great to take to a summer picnic or barbecue – very refreshing!  Perfect time of the year to try this recipe out.

5 c. sliced cooked carrots

1 medium onion, chopped

1 medium green pepper, chopped

1 can tomato soup

1/2 c. oil

1 c. sugar

3/4 c. vinegar

1 tsp. mustard

1 tsp. worcestershire sauce

1 tsp. salt

Mix and marinate overnight.  Drain and serve.  Keep cold.

Leave a Reply

