Chicken & Dumplings

chicken & dumplings

I love chicken and dumplings but I have never attempted to make them myself.  This was a fairly easy recipe and even my boys liked them (which is saying a lot – my boys don’t like anything in a ‘sauce’).  Mema’s recipe doesn’t mention how to cook the chicken so I just steamed 2 big chicken breasts with salt, pepper, and some Italian seasoning.  I then boiled some additional broth to cook the dumplings in.  I assume Mema probably boiled the chicken and then pulled it out and used that broth for the dumplings.  I just don’t like boiled chicken – steamed seems a lot more tender to me.  That being said, here is Mema’s recipe.

2 c. flour

4 tsp. baking powder

2 T. butter

2/3 c. milk

1/2 tsp. salt

chicken

Mix flour, baking powder, butter, milk, & salt together.  Shape into dumplings [I just rolled a bit in my hand and flattened before dropping in the pot].  Have chicken broth boiling – drop in dumplings a few at a time (do not put too many at a time).  Cook dumplings about 10 minutes.  Add chicken and simmer for a few minutes.

Leave a Reply

