Pork Chops with Beer

pork chops with beer

Wow… I can’t believe it’s been 3 weeks since I last went through Mema’s recipes and made something.  Time seems to race along at warp speed and when it comes time to make dinner I’m not able to spend the time I wish I could preparing from recipes.  Usually I have both boys wanting my attention so dinner ends up being grilled meat, some rice and a steamed veggie.  So plain.  This morning I thought maybe I’d mix it up a bit and go through Mema’s stash again.  So tonight’s dinner is made completely from her recipes: Pork Chops with Beer, Ragout of Vegetables, & Scalloped Potatoes.  Yum!  These pork chops ended up absolutely scrumptious!  I love the mix of mustard, beer, & caraway seeds.

Note: I didn’t have any thick pork chops so I didn’t cook mine the full 45 minutes at the end.  I also didn’t serve them over rice since I was making the scalloped potatoes.  I think it would definitely taste wonderful over rice and will do that next time!

4 rib pork chops, about 1 inch thick

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 tsp. caraway seeds

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/2 T. flour

1 T. prepared mustard

1 c. canned beef broth

Rub each chop with garlic, caraway seeds, salt, & pepper. Dredge in flour.  Brown both sides in oil.  Drain off fat in skillet, leaving brown bits in the pan.  Add beer and bring to boil over high heat, stirring and scraping the skillet to loosen the brown bits.  Simmer until liquid is reduced to 1/2 cup.  Stir in mustard & beef broth.  Simmer to reduce to 1 cup.  Arrange chops back in skillet.  Cover & simmer for 45 minutes.  Serve over rice.

2 thoughts on “Pork Chops with Beer

  1. Pingback: Ragout of Vegetables | Mema's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Scalloped Potatoes | Mema's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

