Raw Apple Cake

raw apple cake - out of the oven without the icing

raw apple cake - iced and ready to serve

This is the 2nd apple cake I’ve tried to make from Mema’s recipes.  The first recipe didn’t turn out too well.  I’m not sure if it’s something I did or if an ingredient was left off of the list.  Needless to say, I didn’t post that recipe (although I do want to go back and try it again and see if I can get it to work).  Anywho, I decided to try this raw apple cake for dessert for our Easter meal and it turned out scrumptious!  Very moist but also very heavy and filling (I cut our slices way too big!)  I decided to make a simple icing with powdered sugar mixed with a bit of butter, milk, & vanilla.

Notes: I didn’t add the nuts into my loaf (just because we don’t tend to like nuts in our cakes and breads) & it took longer than an hour for my loaf to completely bake – closer to 1 hour 15 minutes.

1/2 c. oil

2 c. sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. vanilla

2 1/2 c. flour

2 c. nuts, chopped

3 c. apples, peeled, cored, & chopped

Prepare apples and set aside.  Mix together sugar, oil, eggs, & vanilla.  Sift together all dry ingredients and gradually add to egg mixture (dough will be very stiff).  Add apples and nuts.  Bake in a greased loaf pan at 350 degrees for about 1 hour.

Leave a Reply

