Pear Honey

pear honey

This is so delicious I can barely contain myself!  I just made a small pot (2 jars worth) so I didn’t actually can the honey.  I plan on keeping a jar at home to use and giving the second one away.  But this recipe is so good I may have to make a large pot next time and can a bunch of jars.  Note: I used 4 pears which equalled 4 cups when chopped.

Pare, core, chop, and measure hard ripe pears and place in a pot.  Add a little water if needed to start cooking.  Boil 10 minutes.

To each quart (4 cups) of chopped pears, add 3 cups of sugar, juice of 1 lemon, grated rind of 1/2 lemon, and 1/2 tsp. ground ginger.  Boil until thick.  Pour into hot jars and seal at once.

You can use different spices if desired such as nutmeg or cinnamon and grated orange or lemon peel.

2 thoughts on “Pear Honey

Leave a Reply

