Steamed Herbed Chicken Dinner

Steamed Herbed Chicken

I have never, ever steamed chicken before.  I didn’t even know you could steam chicken and I admit I googled ‘steamed chicken’ to make sure I wasn’t missing something in Mema’s recipe.  Well, it’s done exactly like you steam vegetables and now that I’ve tried it I will never boil chicken again.  The meat was so moist!  The combination of parsley, shallot, and lemon rind was wonderful but if you just need cooked chicken for another dish, I would try steaming instead of boiling.  I don’t have an electric steamer so I used our steamer rack in a big pot of boiling water.  I also used boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken or chicken parts.  Mema doesn’t have a cook time written on her recipe card but it took about 30 minutes to cook 3 large chicken breasts (about 2 lbs. total).

1 whole chicken or chicken parts

2 T. finely chopped fresh parsley

1 tsp. finely chopped shallot

1 tsp. grated lemon rind

Place chicken in steamer with herbs and lemon rind sprinkled on it (if using a steamer rack in a pot of water, bring water to boil before adding chicken).  Just before chicken is done, add fresh vegetables to steamer to cook while chicken is finishing.

One thought on “Steamed Herbed Chicken Dinner

  1. Pingback: Green Beans with Cumin | Mema's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

