7-Up Cake

7-Up cake

I remember Mema making this cake many times while growing up; my mom remembers her grandmother, Mama Simpson, baking this cake while she was growing up; Ted’s grandmother often made this cake as well.  This is definitely a recipe that is so good it needs to be passed down from generation to generation.

Unfortunately, my photos do not do justice to just how delicious this cake is so I will try again tomorrow.  I added a little icing (just powdered sugar and milk) to each piece as I served them.  I also used a 9×13 cake pan instead of a tube pan and the time worked out perfectly.  Oh so good!

3 c. cake flour

5 eggs

3 c. sugar

1 T. vanilla

3 sticks real butter

3/4 c. 7-Up

Mix eggs, butter, & sugar and beat 5 to 8 minutes.  Add cake flour and beat 15 minutes.  Stir in 7-Up and vanilla.  Pour batter into a greased tube pan.  Bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees.  Do not open the door.

3 thoughts on “7-Up Cake

Leave a Reply

