Carrots & Brussels Sprouts

carrots & brussels sprouts

My favorite cooked vegetable is brussels sprouts (I always have fresh brussels sprouts in my fridge); my least favorite is carrots (I actually go out of my way to avoid cooked carrots).  But these carrots were actually really good with the ginger and seasoned salt!  I also added some pepper because I love pepper.

3/4 lb. fresh brussels sprouts (or 2 pkgs. frozen)

1 can chicken broth, undiluted

3/4 lb. baby carrots

2 T. butter or margarine, melted

1/8 tsp. ground ginger

1/4 tsp. seasoned salt

Place brussels sprouts & chicken broth in saucepan.  Bring to a boil.  Cover, reduce heat, & simmer 5 to 10 minutes, or until tender.  Drain well.  Add carrots to a small amount to boiling salted water in a large saucepan.  Cook 5 minutes or until tender.  Drain off liquid.  Pour butter over carrots & sprinkle with ginger.  Cook over medium heat 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add brussels sprouts & seasoned salt.  Mix well.  Cook 1 minute or until thoroughly heated.

Makes 6 to 8 servings.

Leave a Reply

