Little acorn shaped pieces of goodness {Savory Wheat Germ Cheese Wafers}

A month ago I gave myself a challenge – by the end of the year I want to make most of our foods from scratch, especially all of the boys’ favorite snack foods.  So far, I have successfully made homemade marshmallows (see recipe here and see photos of mine here), granola bars (see recipe here), bread (I’ve actually been doing this for a while and use various recipes), nutella (see recipe here), vanilla wafers (see my previous post), and now these savory wheat germ cheese wafers.  I was very excited to find this recipe in the stacks of cards I have from Mema’s house because I’ve been looking for a good cheese ‘cracker’ type snack.  These are soft, not crunchy like crackers (much to the dismay of Rowan) but they are very tasty!

I had to try this recipe twice to get it to work.  The first time I tried I followed the recipe as Papa had written on the card but I had to throw them away.  They were disgusting.  But I was not deterred; I had to try again.  The recipe just sounded too good to toss aside.  Looking at the recipe I had to wonder if maybe Papa had gotten the measurements of the wheat germ and flour reversed so I switched them and tried again.  Sure enough, they worked and are scrumptious!

Instead of cutting them into squares or circles, I wanted to try out my new tiny cookie cutters I got from Michaels.  So we now have about 4 dozen little acorn shaped cheese wafers which are not going to last long in this household!

Savory Wheat Germ Cheese Wafers

Savory Wheat Germ Cheese Wafers

{I have noted the amounts I used in the recipe, not the amounts written on Papa’s recipe card}

1/3 c. regular wheat germ

2/3 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 c. grated sharp cheddar cheese

1/4 c. softened butter or margarine

1 T. water (I needed about 1/2 T. more but start with 1 T.)

sesame or poppy seeds for seasoning

Combine wheat germ, flour, & salt.  Mix well.  Beat together cheese and butter until well blended (I learned my lesson from making the cheese dips last month and used my food processor to do this!)  Stir wheat germ mixture and water into cheese.  Mix well (this is going to form a stiff dough so I had to use my hands to mix).  Form into a ball and divide dough in half.  Roll out each half on a lightly floured board to 1/8 inch thick.  Cut with a small cookie cutter or into squares.  Place wafers on baking sheets.  Sprinkle with sesame or poppy seeds.  Bake at 350 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes, or until very lightly browned.  Do not over bake.  Remove from baking sheets and cool on wire racks.

{yields about 3 dozen depending on the size you cut them – I got about 4 dozen out of the recipe and I think I’m going to double it next time}

Leave a Reply

